Prof. dr P.W. Crous, Westerdijk Fungal Biodiversity Institute, Utrecht, The Netherlands. E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Pedro is Professor in Fungal Biodiversity at the University of Utrecht, the Netherlands, where he is presently group leader in Evolutionary Phytopathology at the Westerdijk Fungal Biodiversity Institute. He is also Professor at the Universities of Stellenbosch and Pretoria (South Africa). His main research interests are fungal systematics of ascomycetes, and the characterisation of fungal plant pathogens. To stimulate global research on fungal biodiversity he has launched several initiatives, including MycoBank, Fungal Planet, Genera of Fungi and Genera of Phytopathogenic Fungi, and coordinated DNA barcoding of fungi (iBoL). He is an editor or board member for numerous journals and has authored or edited several textbooks, and is past-president of the International Mycological Association.


Senior Editors


Prof. dr U. Braun, Martin-Luther-Universität, Institut für Biologie, Geobotanik und Botanischer Garten, Herbarium, Neuwerk 21, D-06099 Halle, Germany

Uwe has spent his career researching the taxonomy of ascomycetes, in particular plant pathogenic families and genera, such as powdery mildews (Erysiphales), cercosporoid fungi (Mycosphaerellaceae), and lichenicolous hyphomycetes, topics on which he has published several monographs and books. Fungal nomenclature is an additional field of his expertise. He has served as member of the “International Nomenclature Commission for Fungi and Lichens”, and until retirement was the Curator (Kustos) of the University Herbarium (Martin Luther University) in Halle (Saale), Germany, and APL Professor of Botany and Mycology.




Dr J.Z. Groenewald, Westerdijk Fungal Biodiversity Institute, Utrecht, The Netherlands

Ewald is a senior researcher in Evolutionary Phytopathology at the Westerdijk Fungal Biodiversity Institute. He regularly reviews papers for a range of journals, including acting as associate editor of Persoonia and scientific editor of Studies in Mycology. He has a background in molecular genetics and his main research interest is the application of molecular phylogenies to resolve phylogenetic relationships of species and genera belonging mainly to Dothideomycetes and Sordariomycetes. Ewald is also interested in the DNA barcoding of plant pathogenic fungi and as such was involved as work package leader for fungi in the EU-funded QBOL project and as one of the curators for the Q-Bank database (recently transferred to EPPO).



Prof. dr M. Thines, Goethe University Frankfurt am Main, Faculty of Biosciences, Institute of Ecology, Evolution and Diversity, Max-von-Laue-Str. 9, D-60438 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Marco is Professor in evolutionary analyses and biological archives at the Goethe University of Frankfurt am Main, and research group leader at the Senckenberg Natural History Society in Germany. His main research interests are the evolution and ecology of plant and protist pathogens, in particular biotrophic oomycetes. This also includes fungal systematics (in particular Oomycota and Ustilaginomycotina), comparative genomics, and the characterisation of plant pathogens, with focus in newly occurring species. He is an editor for several journals and is presently the President of the German Mycological Society (DGfM). Marco is a member of the International Commission for the Taxonomy of Fung (ICTF) and the Nomenclature Committee for Fungi (NCF).



Layout Editors

Manon van den Hoeven-Verweij, Westerdijk Fungal Biodiversity Institute, Utrecht, Netherlands

Graphic Design Editor

Marjan Vermaas, Westerdijk Fungal Biodiversity Institute, Utrecht, Netherlands


Associate Editors

Prof. dr A.M. Al-Sadi, Department of Crop Sciences, College of Agricultural and Marine Sciences, Sultan Qaboos University, P.O. Box 34, AlKhoud 123, Oman

Prof. dr M. Arzanlou, Plant Protection Department, Agriculture Faculty, University of Tabriz, P.O. Box: 5166614766, Tabriz, Iran

Prof. dr T.I. Burgess, School of Biological Sciences and Biotechnology, Murdoch University, Perth, 6150, Australia

Prof. dr L. Cai, State Key Laboratory of Mycology, Institute of Microbiology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, No. 3 Park 1, Beichen West Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing, 100101, China

Prof. dr L. Carris, Associate Professor, Department of Plant Pathology, Washington State University, Pullman, WA 99164-6340, USA

Dr C. Decock, MUCL, Croix du Sud 2 bte L7.05.06, B-1348 Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium; e-mail

Dr A.D. van Diepeningen, Business Unit Biointeractions and Plant Health, Wageningen University and Research, Wageningen, the Netherlands

Dr X.L. Fan, The Key Laboratory for Silviculture and Conservation of Ministry of Education, Beijing Forestry University, Beijing 100083, China

Dr Y. Marin-FelixDepartment Microbial Drugs, Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, Inhoffenstrasse 7, 38124, Braunschweig, Germany

Dr D. Gramaje, Instituto de Ciencias de la Vid y del Vino (ICVV), Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas - Universidad de la Rioja - Gobierno de La Rioja, Ctra. Mendavia-Logroño NA 134, Km. 90, 26071 Logroño, Spain

Dr V. Guarnaccia, Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Food Sciences (DiSAFA), University of Torino, via Paolo Braccini 2, 10095 Grugliasco, TO, Italy

Dr J. Houbraken, Westerdijk Fungal Biodiversity Institute, P.O. Box 85167, 3508 AD Utrecht, The Netherlands

Dr F. Liu, State Key Laboratory of Mycology, Institute of Microbiology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, No. 3 Park 1, Beichen West Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing, 100101, China

Dr R. Jeewon, Department of Health Sciences, Faculty of Science, University of Mauritius, Reduit, Mauritius

Dr L. Mostert, Department of Plant Pathology, University of Stellenbosch, P. Bag X1, Matieland 7602, South Africa

Dr H.D.T. Nguyen, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, K.W. Neatby Building, 960 Carling Ave., Ottawa, ON, Canada, K1A 0C9

Dr A.J.L. Phillips, University of Lisbon, Faculty of Sciences, Biosystems and Integrative Sciences Institute (BioISI), Campo Grande, 1749-016 Lisbon, Portugal

Dr Marcin Piątek, Department of Mycology, W. Szafer Institute of Botany, Polish Academy of Sciences, Lubicz 46, PL-31-512 Kraków, Poland

Prof. dr H.-D. Shin, Division of Environmental Science and Ecological Engineering, Korea University, Seoul 02841, Korea

Dr S.L. Stürmer, Universidade Regional de Blumenau – FURB, Departamento de Ciências Naturais - DCN R. Antônio da Veiga, 140. Cx.P. 1507, 89030-903 Blumenau, SC - Brazil

Prof. dr B. Summerell, Royal Botanic Gardens and Domain Trust, Mrs. Macquaries Road, Sydney, NSW 2000, Australia

Dr Joey B. Tanney, Pacific Forestry Centre, Canadian Forest Service, Natural Resources Canada, 506 Burnside Rd W, Victoria, BC V8Z 1M5, Canada

Prof. dr P. Taylor, Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences, University of Melbourne, VIC, 3010, Australia

Prof. dr C.M. Visagie, Forestry and Agricultural Research Institute (FABI), University of Pretoria, Pretoria 0002, South Africa

Prof. dr M.J. Wingfield, Forestry and Agricultural Research Institute (FABI), University of Pretoria, Pretoria 0002, South Africa

Prof. dr R. Zare, Agricultural Research, Education and Extension Organization, Tehrãn, Iran

Dr L.W. Zhou, Institute of Applied Ecology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, No. 72, Wenhua Road, Shenhe District, Shenyang, 110016, China